American College of Emergency Physicians Recognizes Excellence in Emergency Medicine

Prestigious awards given at annual scientific assembly in San Francisco

October 18, 2011

SAN FRANCISCO–The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) has recognized 10 emergency physicians for outstanding contributions to emergency medicine during the organization's annual meeting, Scientific Assembly, the largest gathering of emergency physicians in the country each year. The awards honor excellence across a wide range of activities, including leadership, policy, education and research.

The following people received awards:

John G. Wiegenstein Leadership Award
Frederick C. Blum, MD, FACEP, received ACEP's highest honor, given to current or past national leaders in recognition of outstanding contributions to ACEP. It is named in honor John G. Wiegenstein, a founding member and the first president of ACEP.

Dr. Blum served as president of ACEP in 2005 when the organization released its first Report Card on the State of Emergency Medicine and held a "Rally at the U.S. Capitol." In addition, he gave testimony before Congress when the Institute of Medicine released a landmark report on emergency care in the United States. Dr. Blum's visibility during these groundbreaking events drew national attention to the problems facing emergency physicians and the millions of patients they treat each year.

As an ACEP leader, Dr. Blum has stressed the importance of contributions to the National Emergency Medicine Political Action Committee. Thanks in part to his efforts, NEMPAC today is the fourth largest medical specialty PAC. Dr. Blum has dedicated his career to training a new generation of emergency physicians and mid-level providers. Many of his students have ascended to leadership positions within the West Virginia Chapter and national ACEP.

Since leaving ACEP's board of directors, Dr. Blum has focused his efforts internationally, speaking around the world as secretary general and president of the International Federation of Emergency Physicians. In addition, he has testified on behalf of ACEP before national policymakers about drug shortages in the emergency department. He continues to serve ACEP as a member of the Emergency Medicine Foundation Board of Trustees, as well as a liaison representative to the Joint Commission's Ambulatory Care Technical Advisory Committee. He also serves on the board of directors of the National Commission for the Certification of Physician Assistants.

Dr. Blum is an associate professor of emergency medicine at West Virginia University in Morgantown, W.Va. He has served ACEP as an exemplary leader and role model for more than 20 years at the state, national and international levels. Dr. Blum completed his undergraduate and medical education at West Virginia University, including a combined residency in pediatrics and internal medicine. He is board certified in emergency medicine, pediatric emergency medicine, internal medicine and pediatrics. He has been a member of ACEP since 1985 and a fellow since 1992.

James D. Mills Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Medicine Award
John J. Skiendzielewski, MD, FACEP, received this award, which honors the late James D. Mills Jr., MD, the second president of ACEP and organizer of the Alexandria Plan for full-time emergency department staffing and management.

Dr. Skiendzielewski is the Emergency Medicine Service Line Director for Geisinger Health System in Danville, Penn., and former director of the department of emergency medicine at Geisinger Medical Center. He was a member of Geisinger's first emergency medicine residency class, and he has remained to create one of the strongest emergency medicine residency programs in the country.

This content continues onto the next page...