ACEP Elects New Board of Directors, Council Leaders

ACEP Elects New Board of Directors, Council Leaders

Press Release Oct 17, 2011

October 15, 2011

SAN FRANCISCO–The American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) today announced the re-election of Michael J. Gerardi, MD, FACEP, to its board of directors and the election of three new board members during its annual Scientific Assembly meeting in San Francisco, the largest gathering of emergency physicians in the country. In addition, Marco Coppola, DO, FACEP, assumed the presidency of ACEP's Council, and Kevin Klauer, DO, EJD, FACEP was elected Council vice speaker. Board officers serve one-year terms, and Council officers serve two-year terms.

Michael J. Gerardi, MD, FACEP
Dr. Gerardi, of Randolph, N.J., serves on the faculty for emergency medicine, Morristown Medical Center. He is also the director of pediatric emergency medicine at Goryeb Children's Hospital and senior vice president of Emergency Medical Associates. He was elected to ACEP's board in 2008. He has served as chair and chair-elect of the Emergency Medicine Foundation from 2009-2011. Dr. Gerardi graduated from Georgetown University Medical School and completed his residency training at Emory University Hospital in Atlanta, Ga.

Hans R. House, MD, FACEP
Dr. House, of Iowa City, Iowa, is associate professor of emergency medicine and associate chair for education for the University of Iowa. He also is emergency medicine residency program director for the University of Iowa. Dr. House has been a member of ACEP since 1996 and was elected Iowa state chapter president. He has also served on the state chapter board of directors continuously since 2003. He received his medical degree from the University of Southern California and completed his residency at UCLA.

Mark L. Mackey MD, MBA, FACEP
Dr. Mackey, of Chicago, Ill., is assistant clinical professor for the department of emergency medicine at the University of Illinois. He also is associate medical director for the department of emergency medicine at Swedish American Belvidere. Dr. Mackey has served on several ACEP committees and has been elected chair of the Reimbursement Committee. He is a member of the Federal Government Affairs Committee and has served as a councilor and alternate councilor. Dr. Mackey received his medical degree from Creighton University School of Medicine and earned his MBA at the University of Illinois. He completed his emergency medicine residency at the University of Florida.

John J. Rogers, MD, FACEP
Dr. Rogers, of Macon, Ga., is associate medical director for the emergency department at the Coliseum Medical Center and Coliseum Northside Hospital. As a member of the Georgia College of Emergency Physicians, Dr. Rogers has served as secretary-treasurer and president-elect. For ACEP national, he has been on the Board of Trustees of the Emergency Medicine Foundation and various committees. He received his medical degree from the University of Iowa and completed a surgery residency at the Medical Center of Central Georgia.

The Council is a deliberative body that meets once a year for two days in conjunction with ACEP's annual Scientific Assembly. The Council votes on resolutions which may be introduced by any member (as long as there are at least two people who co-sign the introduction of the resolution). The Council is also the body that votes on proposed changes to the bylaws.

Council Speaker
Marco Coppola, DO, FACEP
Dr. Coppola, of Colleyville, Texas, is an attending physician and adjunct clinical professor of emergency medicine at the University of North Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine in Fort Worth. He has served as ACEP's Council vice speaker national since 2009 and has been a councillor since 1994. He was elected ACEP-Government Services Chapter president for two terms. Dr. Coppola received his doctor of osteopathy degree from Des Moines University and completed his residency in emergency medicine at Darnall Army Community Hospital in Fort Hood.

Council Vice Speaker
Kevin M. Klauer, DO, EJD, FACEP
Dr. Klauer, of Canton, Ohio, is chief medical officer for Emergency Medicine Physicians and director of the Center for Emergency Medical Education. He is also assistant clinical professor for the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. He is recipient of the ACEP National Faculty Teaching Award and the EMRA Robert J. Dougherty Teaching Fellowship Award. Dr. Klauer received his doctorate of osteopathic degree from the University of Osteopathic Medicine and Health Sciences and completed his emergency medical residency at LSU Charity Hospital in New Orleans. He received his Executive JD from Concord Law School in 2011.

About ACEP
ACEP is a national medical specialty society representing emergency medicine. ACEP is committed to advancing emergency care through continuing education, research and public education. Headquartered in Dallas, Texas, ACEP has 53 chapters representing each state, as well as Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia. A Government Services Chapter represents emergency physicians employed by military branches and other government agencies.

Continue Reading
The drones are used to improve scene management by assessing areas that are difficult or dangerous for personnel to reach.
Dozens of firefighters and police officers join the annual week-long Brotherhood Ride to honor 20 first responders who have died in the line of duty in Florida.
The event will be held on August 20, with all proceeds going to Narberth Ambulance, an agency that provides emergency services to 145,000 residents.
Speakers presented on topics such as disaster relief, emerging pathogens, the opioid crisis and cyber security.
The state's Department of Health has established an agreement for UNC and NCBP to collaborate on providing public health data to NEMSIS to better prepare EMS for national emergencies.
State troopers rendered aid before turning them over to responding EMS units and New Castle County Paramedics.
Three people were fatally shot and at least 21 others were wounded in separate attacks from Saturday morning to early Sunday.
Crestline Coach attended the Eighth Annual Saskatchewan Health & Safety Leadership conference on June 8 to publicly sign the “Mission: Zero” charter on behalf of the organization, its employees and their families.
ImageTrend, Inc. announced the winners of the 2017 Hooley Awards, which recognize those who are serving in a new or innovative way to meet the needs of their organization, including developing programs or solutions to benefit providers, administrators, or the community.
Firefighters trained with the local hospital in a drill involving a chemical spill, practicing a decontamination process and setting up a mass casualty tent for patient treatment.
Many oppose officials nationwide who propose limiting Narcan treatment on patients who overdose multiple times to save city dollars, saying it's their job to save lives, not to play God.
While it's unclear what exact substance they were exposed to while treating a patient for cardiac arrest, two paramedics, an EMT and a fire chief were observed at a hospital after experiencing high blood pressure, rapid heartbeat, and mood changes.
After a forest fire broke out, students, residents and nursing home residents were evacuated and treated for light smoke inhalation before police started allowing people to return to their buildings.
AAA’s Stars of Life program celebrates the contributions of ambulance professionals who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in service to their communities or the EMS profession.