Skip to main content
Patient Care

New National EMS Scope of Practice Model Released

The 2019 National EMS Scope of Practice Model, which identifies the knowledge and skills necessary to achieve competence for the four levels of EMS clinicians, is now available on The document is the result of an expert-led, consensus-driven process, managed by the National Association of State EMS Officials and supported  by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's  Office of EMS and the Health Resources & Services Administration's EMS for Children Program. It represents the first significant revision since the National EMS Scope of Practice Model was first published in 2007. 

While the scope of practice for EMS clinicians is established by the states, the National EMS Scope of Practice Model provides an evidence-based foundation many states have adopted as their state scope of practice. The revision to the model reflects changes within the profession and medical science that have occurred over the last decade.

The 2019 National EMS Scope of Practice Model:

  • Provides up-to-date, relevant, and evidence-based descriptions of the levels of EMS clinicians (emergency medical responder, emergency medical technician, advanced EMT, and paramedic);
  • Will be used to drive the upcoming revision of the National EMS Education Standards and Instructional Guidelines;
  • Facilitates reciprocity, standardizes professional recognition, and decreases the necessity of each state developing its own education and certification materials. 

To learn more or download the 2019 National EMS Scope of Practice Model, visit

Back to Top