Allina Health EMS Recognized with Dick Ferneau Career EMS Service of the Year Award

Allina Health EMS Recognized with Dick Ferneau Career EMS Service of the Year Award

Press Release Oct 23, 2017

Las Vegas, Nevada—Allina Health EMS was honored by the National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) and EMS World News with the Dick Ferneau Career EMS Service of the Year Award. The award was presented today at the EMS World Expo 2017 in Las Vegas, Nevada during its opening ceremony.

“This award is a wonderful testament to the commitment of the Allina Health EMS team to provide exceptional care in the communities we serve,” said Brian LaCroix, President and EMS Chief of Allina Health EMS. “At Allina, we aim to be innovative in our training and clinical care and collaborative with our partnering first responders. It’s an honor to be recognized by this prestigious award.”

Allina Health EMS serves more than 120 Minnesota communities, covering more than one million people. It employs more than 600 paramedics, EMTs, dispatchers, special transportation drivers, maintenance and administration and support personnel. The service offers priority medical dispatch, 9-1-1 pre-arrival instructions, emergency and non-emergency ambulance response as well as wheelchair transport. In addition to its work in emergency medical services and medical transportation, the Allina Health EMS team does original research and analysis in EMS. The organization became one of only 144 dispatch centers in the world to achieve accreditation by the International Academy of Emergency Dispatch in 2015. Through the Allina Health EMS Freedom House, the agency also recruits and trains inner-city St. Paul residents as EMTs.

The Dick Ferneau Career EMS Service of the Year Award is sponsored by Ferno—a global leader in emergency pre-hospital patient handling equipment—and was established in memory of its co-founder Dick Ferneau. The award commemorates Ferneau’s contributions to the EMS industry including innovations in patents, product and concepts used to provide safer patient care. Exemplifying Ferneau’s commitment, Allina Health EMS was recognized for its outstanding dedication, teamwork and service to the EMS profession.

Award recipients are evaluated on a number of criteria, which include contributions towards advancing in EMS education and training in the agency; innovations in prehospital care and protocol development implemented by the agency; medical community involvement with the agency; among others.

The EMS World Expo 2017 is held October 16-20, 2017 in Las Vegas and serves as the largest EMS conference in North America. To learn more about the event visit

David Wampler, PhD, assistant professor in Emergency Health Sciences at the University of Texas Health Science Center, received the Best Research Award.
Paramedic Terry Bottjen of Faith, S.D. received the 2017 NAEMT/Nasco Paramedic of the Year Award.
U.S. Army Sergeant Jacob Ponczkowski was presented with the 2017 NAEMT/North American Rescue Military Medic of the Year Award.
Ginny Renkiewicz, a paramedic from Fayetteville, N.C., received the 2017 NAEMT/Jones & Bartlett Learning EMS Educator of the Year Award.
NAEMT President Dennis Rowe presented EMT Ryan Houser with the 2017 NAEMT/Braun Industries EMT of the Year Award.
Greenlawn Fire Department and EMS of Greenlawn, NY was the recipient of the 2017 Volunteer EMS Service of the Year Award.
Allina Health EMS of St. Paul, Minnesota is announced as the winner of the 2017 Dick Ferneau Career EMS Service of the Year award.
The winner and honorable mentions will present at the Urgent Matter Annual Meeting hosted by the American College of Emergency Physicians at the 2017 Scientific Assembly in Washington, D.C.
Julie Lahr, a community paramedic for Williamson County EMS of Tex., received the Dynarex First Responder Caring Award at EMS World Expo on Oct. 18.
Allina Health EMS was honored by NAEMT and EMS World with the Dick Ferneau Career EMS Service of the Year Award.
The mission of this program is to honor an EMS educator who consistently demonstrates his/her commitment to providing high quality simulations
The program is designed to enhance the patient’s experience of care, preserve EMS and emergency department resources for higher acuity requests, and reduce overall healthcare expenditures
The process involves meeting nationally established accreditation standards, peer review, and approval by the CAAHEP Board of Directors
The Scholarship is awarded to individuals who have made significant contributions to enhance, promote and develop a culture of safety within their work environment